Register now banner

WeddingsOnline Discussion Forums

Welcome to the WeddingsOnline discussion board. We do operate some Forum Rules, please click here to read through them. Also please refer to our FAQ if you have queries on how to use the boards.

Amour Toujour's Rathsallagh Report

Postby amour toujours » Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:20 pm

Amour Toujour’s (September) Rathsallagh Report

Well here’s my report. It’s very long, so I thank you in advance, any of you who are taking the time to read it. I loved reading the wedding reports before my own wedding, so I hope someone finds something to enjoy here.

First..…. Some Random Wedding Ramblings
Oh wowsa. Girls, to those of you still waiting on the big day, you have such a joyful time ahead of you. :) And I mean JOYful – that was the overriding emotion I felt on my day. A few days afterwards, I wrote a quick post here describing the day briefly. This is what I said:

“I did it! I married my darling!

I will report when I come back from honeymoon but all I can say is that it was the most incredible, rollercoaster, longest, shortest, lovingest, happiest, special, tear-filled, joy-filled, heart-swelling-est, emotion-filled, beautiful day of my entire life.

I am moved beyond description and I feel I am the happiest, luckiest woman on the entire planet....no make that...the entire galaxy!

Oh happy day!” :D

Those few sentences really say exactly what our day was like. I am still overwhelmed with happiness when I think of it. So to anybody going through those stressful moments (and I had a ton of ‘em), it won’t matter a jot when you are walking up the aisle with all that love in your eyes, and you see it reflected right back at you. What a feeling! :D

2-3 Weeks before Wedding: (stress level - 15/10, H2B - mostly hiding)
I worked up until 5 days before our wedding and though I had most things done by then, I had no idea how busy the last few days were going to be. It was pretty stressful, I literally didn’t stop from 7 in the morning until midnight, each night. If I could do it again, I’d try and have the week off, but then I was trying to save days for the honeymoon – so you can’t win.

In fairness I did something a bit mad 3 weeks before the wedding – I resigned from my job and accepted a new one, so I had to work right up till a few days before the wedding so that I could finish everything up in the old job, not to mention sign forms, meet the new HR manager, sort out bank accounts, p45s, contracts etc etc…

You know that thing where people say “oh, getting married, moving house, changing jobs…those are the most stressful things you can do in your life” Hel-LO! Not helpful to hear that phrase trotted out when you ARE that person! However, I have always had a pathological inclination to make life hard for myself. Fun and relaxation – pshaw, that’s for wusses! Nope! Good old Amour always likes to be dealing with a minor crisis. So yes, I did move house this year. I also planned a wedding abroad, cancelled a wedding abroad, replanned a wedding here in just 3.5 months and then like an eejit decided…”sure why don’t I just start a new job as well.” Stressed? Moi?? I will admit there were frequent days where I caught myself muttering out loud walking down the street, not to mention going to work with odd socks, forgetting close friends names and there were a scary few days when my H2B thought I had PERMANENTLY lost my sense of humour….. but, I digress….. Let’s just say that trying to finish my old job, plan my new one and finalise the wedding is not something I’d recommend 5 days before your wedding.

What else? Oh yeah, like many of you, I decided to do the mass booklet myself. . I got the template from a friend. Thank you FOREVER S. :) and then decided to design the cover myself with some celtic-y design whatsits (to match our invites). Like anyone even notices that kind of stuff. What was I thinking? Hours of “entertainment” on the Internet trying to download celtic font and borders and images…..and the printing? Dear God, the printing. I still get cold chills just thinking about it. I was demented at the end of it all and I think H2B was worrying that he was marrying a psychopath. But…it got done, and it looked good. Yaay me! And was I satisfied? Did I relax and say “right that’s enough of all the home-made stuff, I’ll de-stress now in the last few days before the lead-up..?” Nope! Not me!

I also half killed myself doing personalised table names and name cards. More agonies of printing, more shouting, ranting, swearing, the cat went missing for 3 days and hid out in the shed, H2B was on the verge of joining him, the ink ran out, the supply shop didn’t have any, the paper got jammed, the images wouldn’t download, our drinks cupboard took a serious hit as wine consumption hit an all time high. But it all got done.

Life returned to semi-normality until the next crisis hit. And that crisis took the form of a heretofore unheard of evil – AKA - “The Table Plan”. Is this, or is this not the JOB FROM HELL?? I think it got re-done 4 times while we re-seated relatives, mismatched friends, uneven table numbers, singles, couples, mad relations, and [dear God, don’t put the priest next to the city people. Put him near the country folk at least they’re not heathens!] and the divil knows what. And then we did it once more for the hell of it!

I explain all of this (for anyone who’s getting bored at this stage, if not already snoring at their computer screen) because the most important thing is that IT ALL GETS DONE! And despite everything, it is fun. No, really! Stressful, but fun. Looking back, I wouldn’t actually have done anything different because I felt like I really had some personal input into my wedding which was important to me and those little touches that I fretted over were noticed by those who I care about and even if they hadn’t been, I worked on them with love and with hope and with all my dreams of my magical day ahead of me. And that was worth all the trouble.

Ah, if only I’d had this sanguine perspective a week before the wedding. ☺

My advice though is take any and ALL offers of help. My handicap of extreme control-freakery did me no good at all. Any one of those friends/relations who were hovering around me nervously in the days leading up to the wedding could have taken over the printing, the changing of my alcohol drip etc… ;) but would I let ‘em? Oh no, not me baby! Touch that printer and you die!

Sorry, I digress again. If you’re still with me, thank you for your forbearance! ☺

Days to go (2 – 3. Stress level 10/10. H2B – Quiet but calm.)
So anyway, I’m from down the country, but since I have lived in the Big Smoke for years, H2B and I decided to get married here in Dublin. It also made things easier because we were organising the whole lot in 3.5 months and going up and down to my hometown would have been a pain.

On the downside though, this meant that my whole family had to come and stay with me before the wedding. Why, oh why did I not think this through? Why did I not insist they all stayed in a hotel? I was worried enough as it was, and having to look after nervous parents and aunties and siblings who kept telling me to “relax and enjoy yourself, sure isn’t it great fun?” [Aside: “Say that again and you DIE”], was not very relaxing – to say the least. I’m the kind of person who needs peace and quiet when I get stressed and having so many people in the house was a real strain for me, but in hindsight, they were all there to support me. I just couldn’t appreciate that at the time. So tip - if you are in this situation – it is YOUR day. Insist on having your space if you need it.

Two days before wedding:
(Stress level 8/10 H2B – still alive. Family – irritating but kind!)

So my family had arrived and we met up with H2B family and went to the church for the rehearsal. It was lovely, but it made me HIDEOUSLY nervous. I don’t know why. I was grand during the rehearsal, but as we were leaving, I was actually shaking…I think I suddenly realised that it was all happening in just 36 hours! Both families went back to our house and drank champagne and had a good old chat. Good vibes from everyone. H2B, who had been quite nervous himself in the weeks leading up to the big day was suddenly so calm, he practically oozed relaxation. He completely chilled out and started enjoying himself. I was mad with jealousy, as I didn’t feel relaxed at all. I just wanted everyone to disappear so I could sit quietly and think about the day to come. My dad and I were both fairly quiet despite the hubbub going on in my kitchen – me because I was quite overwhelmed by the rehearsal, dad because he was nervous about the FOB speech. He was not looking forward to it. I told him a million times he didn’t have to do it, because I honestly didn’t care. I just wanted him to relax. But he was determined – which made it all the more admirable that he wanted to do it for me, despite his own shyness. Anyway, I tried to go to bed early-ish but was up till around 1:30am, unable to sleep. One more night to go and I’m getting married. This was the one thought going round and around my head. H2B was sleeping like a baby beside me and I was lying there feeling scared, excited, nervous, thrilled, afraid, exhausted, overwhelmed, joyful and emotional – all in one go. Who says women are complicated? ;) Oh God, please, please let it all go well on the day! Don’t let me trip going up the aisle! Let H2B love my dress! Please let the band be good and our guests enjoy themselves! Child of Prague, do your job and keep that rain at bay please! Let….ZZZZzzzzzzzzz! I finally fell asleep!

Day before the wedding (Stress level – mercurial. H2B – in the zone!)
I think I only began to get excited at this stage. Up until then there were so many things to do, that I really did feel quite stressed and tired. At this point most things were done (except my speech, of which, more later). Today was going to be my day to relax. Famous Last Words! So, I was up in my bedroom, grinning foolishly at my dress which was hidden in the wardrobe and I was wandering around making sure that I had everything. Dress – check. Shoes – check. Hairpiece – check. Jewelry – check. Underwear – check. Expensive bra? ….. Expensive bra?......Expensive bra, which was chosen specifically to fit under my strapless dress. Dear God, where was it??? :eek: I ran around like a maniac, pulling open drawers, looking under the bed, searching every room. No bra. And like a bad dream, I suddenly had a memory of 2 days previously, when I swept my room clean of all the empty shopping bags and tissue paper which were littered all over the floor. And in a flash of recognition, I saw my bra wrapped up in some of that same tissue paper. And I had THROWN IT IN THE BIN!!! :grr:

I ran downstairs and yep, the bins had been emptied. No bra! Damnation!

No panic, there are lingerie shops everywhere right? Just go buy a new bra Amour, I thought! I went downstairs where everyone was chilling out and tucking into some food (yes, I’m fine, don’t mind me, I’m just the bride!), and was just about to tell H2B that I had to go into town when I noticed our cat staggering across the lawn. Now, before I go any further, I need to point out that our cat is an absolute drama queen (even though he’s a HE). He has to be the centre of attention ALL the time, and he totally rules the roost. On this day, we had booked him into a cattery because we were going to be away on honeymoon etc…and H2B was literally putting on his coat to bring him out to the cattery lady. It was as if the little horror KNEW that we were getting rid of him because, with the most magnificent timing, (and remember I’m freaking out because of no bra, the wedding is less than a day away, the house is a hive of activity etc..etc..) he staggered across the lawn retching and puking everywhere and was throwing some kind of histrionic cat-fit. Then he decides to pitch over and lay down looking up at us miserably as if to say … “See?.. I am tragically unwell…I’m afraid this wedding-thing you are all pre-occupied with will simply have to be cancelled. Miao!”. Anyone who has a cat knows what Divas they are – and ours is no exception. :rolleyes: H2B called the cattery owner and of course she says she can’t take him while he’s ill. He’d have to go to the vet and then she’d let us know depending on what the vet said. Can totally understand her point of view, but this was NOT what we needed the day before the wedding! No-one else could mind the cat at short notice. H2B family were going away, my family are too far away etc… GAAAHH – the little blighter!

BUT - I had no time to worry about this because the bra situation (or lack thereof) was all I could think about, so I left H2B to run off to the vet with the wretched furball and I raced off to Dundrum and went into House of Fraser where I knew they stocked the bra I needed. Horror of horrors, they had none. The woman was very helpful when I told my sorry tale, and said she’d call the 3 other stores which stocked them. She called Clerys – no bra in my size. She called BTs – no bra in my size. I was panicking. What the hell was going on? Was EVERY woman in Dublin wearing the same bra size as me, and all getting married in the morning…in strapless dresses??? The last store to call was Arnotts. I waited in rising panic. And…..there was no answer from Arnotts lingerie dept. We called and called and couldn’t get through. I left H.of.F. figuring I’d just have to get a plain old strapless bra in M&S, but not happy because the one I’d bought had worked so perfectly with my dress and I’d had to go through days of all that graceless manoevering in fitting rooms with various lingerie salesladies wrestling bras around me like they were some kind of medieval torture device, and telling me which way to hoike my bosoms to best effect. No way was I going to have gone through all that for nothing!

I headed off determinedly, wondering whether just to go into town and try my luck with Arnotts or get a substitute in M&S just in case. First I decided to call H2B to get an update. H2B was in the vet’s surgery with our cat who was pulling off the most magnificent piece of animal acting since Lassie went head to head with Liz Taylor. Honestly that cat deserves an Oscar! The cat was yowling like he was being tortured and then laying on the piteous mewling. What a fraud! So anyway, the vet said he didn’t know what was wrong with him (quelle surprise!) but that he looked somewhat poorly (yeah right!). He said it was probably a minor tummybug. So he gave him some antibiotics and instructions for the cat-sitter to give him more over the next few days. The cattery lady said she would take him as long as the vet said it was okay. Basically we would have propped the little blighter upright with glue as long as she agreed to take him. But with the vets blessing we were saved. H2B headed off to the cattery with “the patient”. One problem sorted!

Meanwhile I was marching through Dundrum, about to head into M&S when I decided to try Arnotts again on my mobile. I got through to the lingerie dept!!! Some lady with a lovely Spanish accent answered.
I was so excited I just blurted…
”OHMIGODI’MGETTINGMARRIEDTOMORROWNANDI’VETHROWNOUTMYBRAPLEASEHELP!” in one big rush. And fair play to her, I don’t know how, but she understood me and blurted back…”I THINK WE HAVE THOSE…HOLD ON I’LL GO AND LOOK”…. So I’m standing in Dundrum with hoards of shoppers going past at 4 o’ clock in the afternoon the day before my wedding….hopping from one leg to the other. Lovely Spanish lady comes back on phone and yells in her lovely Spanish accent….”I HAVE IT, I HAVE IT…” She was almost more excited than me! I started jumping up and down on the spot screeching “THANK YOU THANK YOU DON’T GIVE IT AWAY - I’M ON MY WAY TO THE STORE RIGHT NOW!! I got a few weird looks from people going past me as I danced a happy jig outside M&S, but aside from the joy of the next day, that was one of the defining moments in the lead-up to the wedding! I would even have kissed the wretched cat at that moment!

Off to Arnotts with me and I arrive with a big sweaty face having run from the LUAS stop on St Stephens Green down to the store. When I got there, I told the girl on the lingerie counter who I was and all the girls behind the counter were going “Oh, YOU’RE THE GIRL WHO THREW OUT HER BRA!” So I had already achieved some notoriety with my “lingerie malfunction.” It was quite funny and they were all great and wished me loads of luck! I marched out with my bra in my sweaty little fist and couldn’t have been more happy if I’d been presented with the Hope Diamond! I clambered back onto the Luas and headed home, wrecked but triumphant.

Tis Now The Night Before…. (Stress level – 4/10. Knee wobblage – 7/10, H2B – happy, although that could be to do with all the champers!)

Back at home and finally after the events of the day I’m beginning to relax. Ah, it’s all happening now Amour. No point worrying any longer. Everything’s done etc etc.
Then into my mind pops two words. The Bloody Speech. Okay that’s three words, but the point is the same. I’d forgotten to write my speech. I was supposed to have done it that morning (having planned most of it in my head the previous day), but with the bra/cat fiasco, I’d forgotten. So while everyone else sat around eating and drinking, I sat with my computer typing up my speech muttering to myself. But it was probably a good thing. I was feeling a bit wrecked after the day, and a little bit emotional, so getting away by myself was the best thing. And I needed time to decide what it was I wanted to say. And bizarrely, even though I thought I had planned what I wanted to put in the speech, I ended up changing the whole thing in the space of about 20 minutes. I had wanted to tell a few stories about H2B but I realised that I didn’t need to embellish things – and what I wanted to say about him didn’t need any dressing up. I was really pleased in the end – and hoped it would work right on the day.

H2B headed off about 8pm to go to stay with his family and gave instructions to my family to let me get to sleep early and the dire consequences which he would visit upon them if they didn’t. However, much to his disgust, no-one was cowed by his speech – he is a very mild-mannered guy at the best of times and this sudden authoritarian impersonation was ignored by pretty much everyone! I went outside to say goodbye to him and felt a bit tearful as we said said our good-nights. It’s strange how emotional this moment is – but it makes sense I guess when you realise how momentous the next time you see each other will be.

I did actually intend going to bed early, and I finally went off at midnight. Of course my family were chatting away downstairs and I could hear them, so didn’t sleep at all. I can NOT understand how some of you brides slept like babies. I was so tired, but couldn’t sleep for ages. Everything kept going round and around in my head. Suddenly I thought – THE BINS! (Yes, that’s the kind of thing most brides think about the night before their wedding – I know!) My stupid brain wouldn’t shut up and kept ranting at me that tomorrow was bin day and I should really put out the bins… So yep, up I had to get (it was now about 1am) and go downstairs and go outside and put the bloody bins out. Back to bed I go, hissing at the voice in my head to leave me alone and shut up and let me get to sleep. (I am usually quite sane – really). About 20 minutes of tossing and turning later and another thought pops into my head… I forgot to mention someone important in my speech. No matter how hard I tried to tell the voice in my head that I would make a note of it in the morning, the voice would not shut up. So up I had to get and write a note to myself. And so it went. On and on. I think it was after 3am when I finally drifted off. (Note to self: If ever getting married again, remember to request a whack over head with mallet night before wedding to induce sleep!)

The Wedding Day
It’s here!!! it’s finally here!!! I’m getting married!!! And I feel…..good. I feel excited, a wee bit nervous, but okay!

So, I woke at about 7am and looked out the window. Cloudy and grey – but no rain! Thank you Prague-y baby – so far! :) I texted H2B, and he was awake too and texted me straight back. He slept well and I lied and said that I did too as I didn’t want him to fret. And with all the adrenalin I didn’t feel the least bit tired anyway.

I got up and had my shower – a nice long hot one. Checked fake tan for any streakage. Nothing – it looked good, natural and golden. Not an oompa loompa in sight. Was glad I decided to do my own.

The rest of the family got up and started wandering about. Some excited laughter (my sis and BM who arrived at 08:30) some nervous laughter (my parents who were worrying on my behalf. See? I don’t get this neurotic behaviour off the wind!).

At 9am I went off to the florists to pick up the flowers since nobody knew where the florist was except me. It got me started and out of the house, which was a good thing. The flowers were fabulous!! My bouquet was exactly what we had discussed and the BMs bouquets were beautiful, cream roses with autumnul flame, gold and rusty colours to match their jewelry and pick up the tones in their chocolate dresses. Looking at the flowers made it all real. A quick hug from my florist and I raced back to the house.

When I got back, the make-up artist had arrived, and so had the hairdresser. We opened some champagne and started to have some fun. I had some toast and tea first and just a few sips of champagne as I didn’t want to be tipsy (or smell of alcohol). The wonderful girl from WeddingMakeUp Artists (who I found on this site) did the make-up for my two BMs, mum and myself and she did an amazing job. We were all beautiful and glowing! Next the hairdresser did my hair. I usually wear my hair down and didn’t want to change this too much as I wouldn’t look like “me”, so she just curled it lightly and put half of it up and pinned it at the back. It was exactly what I wanted. I didn’t want a veil, so I had bought a head piece – which was a comb with gold and pearl beads. It sat at the side of my head and a few of the beads trailed over the front of my head. I loved it . By now it was nearly 12 o’clock – the time just flew by as we all got our hair and makeup done. I was so pleased I’d gotten the hairdresser and makeup artist to come to the house as it meant I was able to relax.

At noon, the photographer Grainne arrived. She was absolutely incredible. She took some great shots of us getting ready and then it was time for me to get into my dress. Oh, what a feeling. I really and truly felt beautiful and everyone told me it showed. I hoped and wished fervently that H2B would be proud, and wondered how he was feeling at that moment. Just then, the sun came out, so we all trooped downstairs and out into the garden and the photographer got some great shots of me and my family. Then suddenly, there was loads of hustle and bustle and noise and laughter and the car arriving and hats being adjusted and corsages being pinned and ohmygod….the house was empty. It was just me and Dad. It was nearly time. I felt all fluttery inside, but so clear about what was coming. I felt so in love…I can’t describe it. It was as if everything slowed down and all that mattered among all the chaos of the last few weeks was that I was marrying the man I loved with my entire heart and being.

My dad and I shuffled around for a bit, but we had a half an hour to go, so we went and put on the news. (Dad needed something to distract him). The weather man said sunshine and showers, which was a damn sight better than the driving rain they had predicted all week, so I was very happy. Dad came and sat beside me on the couch and got a bit emotional and we had a little hug. It was a lovely moment.

Then suddenly……it was time.

Getting married! (Stress level – zero. Emotions – a little high. Excitement – 10).
Dad and I got into the fabulous car which H2B and I decided to order at the last minute and hang the expense. And I was thrilled we did. It was lovely to get into a vintage car and feel like a princess. So many people wave when they see a bride. It’s such a lovely feeling to bring a smile to someone’s face. And I waved back madly, grinning like mad thing. The chauffeur beeped all the way to the church and then non-stop as we arrived to let the stragglers know we were coming, and indeed we saw them running like mad to get into the church. My dad held my hand the whole way, and it really helped.

At the church door, the photographer took pics of us in the car, and then we were heading for the church door. Suddenly I heard the music start up. That’s for me, I thought. And it was. It was really about to happen.

I remember how everyone said that you are so overwhelmed you miss loads of things particuarly the church, so I tried really hard to concentrate and take in every second. I could hear my singer singing the beautiful Nella Fantasie and away my BM went up the aisle. Then a moment later my sister too headed off – both of them looking beautiful. I could see the crowds in the church craning their necks to look back at me as I stood at the door. Then Dad whispered to me “here we go…” and we were off.

I could not take the smile off my face as we walked up the aisle, but my knees were trembling furiously. I was glad we were going slow. I wasn’t nervous, but I was so emotional. I was afraid I was going to cry. The closer up the aisle we went, the more the tears started coming up my throat……. I could see my darling H2B, studiously not looking back..waiting for me. For me. For his wife to be. How wonderful. From the corner of my eye, I saw one of my schoolgirl friends smiling the most beautiful smile at me, and she blew me a kiss of delight. It was the best thing she could have done. Instantly the nerves and the emotions calmed, the tears retreated, and I was beaming! At that moment, as I came towards the top of the church, H2B turned around and we smiled at each other. Oh happy day!

As I kissed my dad, and dad shook H2B’s hand, I knew it was all going to be just perfect. Nothing mattered anymore. The music soared and the priest came towards us and took both our hands and drew us forward. I think he felt us both shaking and we were so grateful that he did that and he whispered privately to us and welcomed us both and told us to enjoy ourselves. It was a wonderful thing to do, and I relaxed completely at that moment.

The ceremony was just beautiful and H2B and I enjoyed ourselves more and more as it went on. During the readings and the songs we were constantly stealing glances at each other and smiling. The priest made the day very special and said the most wonderful things in his sermon. Many of our guests commented on this afterwards. When the exchange of rings began, it was another very emotional moment and I could tell H2B was very touched. The priest announced that we were married, we faced the congregation and everyone clapped and cheered. That was a very overwhelming moment but probably the happiest moment of my entire life.

And nobody noticed, not even the priest, not even H2B, that I put the ring on his right hand!! He only noticed himself some time later! In the registry, I told the priest who roared laughing and said not to worry, we were still married! Phew! :D

Joyfully, happily we marched down the aisle, out into the sunshine and met all our dear dear friends and family. That was fantastic, as I hadn’t even noticed many of my old friends as I went up the aisle, so overwhelmed was I by the experience…so it was great to welcome them all as they streamed out of the church.

After some great fun pics with the photographer, we headed off to Rathsallagh House in Wicklow. I have nothing but good things to say about the staff. Catherine, who I dealt with coming up to the wedding was an absolute treasure, with no stone left unturned and I couldn’t have managed the planning without her.

Rathsallagh is a beautiful venue, but I had no idea how amazing it was going to be for my wedding.

In the car on the way down, my HUSBAND ☺ and I got some much needed time to chat…er for about 10 minutes, then he started chatting to the driver about the car, and its history and the horsepower and the engine etc etc.. LOL. In fairness I was interested too, and the driver was a lovely man, so it was a really pleasant trip. We sipped champagne and enjoyed the countryside and the peace and quiet.

Rathsallagh House (Stress levels – nonexistent. Enjoyment levels – off the chart!)

When we arrived in Rathsallagh the staff were waiting and we had a glass of champagne to start us off. Then the photographer brought us and the car around the front of the house to the beautiful ivy-clad façade where we had loads of photos taken. Many of our guests were arriving and waving and beeping at us as they pulled in. The weather was dry but overcast, so the photographer got us all into the garden to take the photos before any rain appeared. She was fantastic and had us all laughing and enjoying ourselves.

Meanwhile the guests were enjoying the fabulous canapes that the staff were serving and those who were staying in the hotel got checked in. Everyone told me how amazing the staff were, and they were right. Everything went like clockwork, but at that stage I was so relaxed I wouldn’t have noticed even if something went wrong. Hubby’s uncle entertained the guests with his piano playing and then Catherine brought us to see the dining room which was just fantastic. All the tables were set up wonderfully and Rathsallagh had put beautiful seasonal autumnal flowers in bowls on all the tables to match the colours of the bouquets. The cake was also laid out and it was gorgeous. We were brought up to our room which was just BEAUTIFUL, overlooking the grounds at the front of the hotel and with an amazing huge bathroom with an enormous bath in the centre of the room. We had about 10 minutes to ourselves, then Catherine rang to tell us it was time to go into dinner. In we walked accompanied by a song which has my name in the title (yaay!) and into the dining room where all our friends and family rose to their feet and broke into huge cheers and clapping. It was just brilliant!

We had set up the head table like a normal restaurant table (as I didn’t want the formality of a long head table), so the 10 of us in the bridal party just sat around the table facing each other, which was great. My poor dad was looking a bit nervous though. It was nearly speech time.

I wanted dad to go first before the meal began so that he could relax and enjoy himself. So the priest said grace, then the best man did a short introduction and handed over to dad. And my dad brought the house down! He was brilliant, didn’t show any nerves, had just the right amount of serious and funny stories and some wonderful things to say about me. Everybody loved it. I was so proud of him! Loads of people came right over to congratulate him after his speech and he was really chuffed!

Then the food arrived. Dusk had fallen by now, and all the tables were lit by candlelight, which created the most beautiful atmosphere. Outside, blazing torches were lit next to the French doors, so there was a magical feeling to the entire night. It was incredibly atmospheric and special.

We chose Rathsallagh, partly because of the beautiful hotel, partly because we had a relatively small wedding (90 guests) and you book the entire place to yourselves – which we wanted, and mostly because of the food. Rathsallagh’s food is amazing! They have won tons of awards and they totally outdid themselves. We love nothing more than going to a good restaurant, so the meal was one of the important parts of the day for us both. We were thrilled with the menu we had chosen and so many of our guests complimented us on our choice of venue and how great the food was.

Next up to speak was my new husband. I wasn’t sure what to expect because my sweetheart is a clever, intelligent man, but he doesn’t express his feelings in public very often. So imagine how thrilled I was when he made a beautiful moving speech, thanking his friends, parents and especially me. He said some beautiful things about me, which he clearly had spent some time thinking about. I was so touched and of course the tears flowed.

I had planned to speak straight after him, so I was immediately worried that I wouldn’t be able to do it because his speech had made me so emotional. Luckily, we had a short sorbet course first, which gave me a few minutes to compose myself, then it was my turn.

I actually wasn’t nervous. I had my speech written out, but only referred to it once or twice. As hubby had thanked most of the usual people, I spoke directly to my closest friends and family, which I know they really appreciated. Mum and Dad were especially pleased, and I was glad I had the opportunity to thank them directly. I think there are few occasions where you can do that in a heartfelt way, and it meant a lot to all of us. I also had a few funny stories and mentioned our troublesome cat, and a story about how hubby and I met, which drew lots of smiles. I finished by explaining what he meant to me, (and my voice only wobbled a little bit, though everyone said my eyes were sparkling with tears of happiness), and I think I did a good job as I sat down to huge applause. It was a great feeling and I’m really glad that I decided to make my speech. Loads of guests told us our speeches were the best they’d ever heard which was great!

The best man then stood up and gave another brilliant speech, which had everyone laughing. Then we had amazing desserts, and our delicious chocolate biscuit wedding cake, and it was time to go mingle while waiting for the band – who had arrived.

This was a great part of the evening. Rathsallagh has this lovely cosy little bar, and a few sitting roooms with log fires. We wandered round chatting with everyone and meantime our guests were being entertained by a surprise that we had prepared for them. We were in the happy position of being related to an up and coming “Derren Brown/Keith Barry” style magician, who agreed to perform at the wedding. Shane was brilliant. After the meal, he went around, doing fantastic card tricks and mind tricks on the guests and generally amazing everyone. He went down a storm and it was fantastic fun. I had no idea in advance how brilliant he would be, so he really added to the whole night.

Then before we knew it our brilliant band were calling us for the first dance. We had chosen “God only Knows” (what I’d be without you) by the Beach Boys and I’ll always treasure the memories of dancing to that great song. The Band (called Beat Club) were fantastic. They are a 6 piece and played amazing covers of all the 50s 60s 70s and 80s music that we love. Everyone was on the floor all night long. I couldn’t believe it when they were finished – it only seemed like 5 minutes.

I tried so hard to make the night last, but it went by so fast. I went and spoke to everyone who was there, but I still felt like I only had about 5 minutes with each person…the whole night just whirled by like a beautiful dream.

During it all, my sweetie said to me that he was truly having the best, happiest most amazing day of his whole life. And I could only echo back the same reply. The whole day exceeded my every expectation and was more wonderful than I could ever have imagined. It is probably the only time in your life when you will have all the people you love most in the world, gathered in a room in your honour, to celebrate with you. I was really humbled by that , both of us were and we were so grateful to our guests who had made the effort to be there for us and to witness our marriage. It’s all about the people you care about…everything else is a bonus and icing on the cake. What makes the day is the people who are there for you. I have the best memories in the world to treasure.

Soon the DJ too was finished and we decamped to the bar where plenty of chat and drink was the order of the night. I hardly had any alcohol all night, but didn’t really need it as I was so high on adrenalin. Slowly the guests who were staying in B&Bs drifted away and eventually just the stragglers remained in the bar. We headed to bed at a respectable 430am and had another lovely surprise when we got into the room. The staff had Frank Sinatra playing in the room and a bottle of bubbly, a tray of sandwiches and a pot of tea, and chocolates on the pillow waiting for us. It was SUCH a brilliant idea. I was actually hungry again at that stage – I hadn’t eaten a lot of the meal (fabulous and all though it was) because I was too wired, so this was exactly what I needed. I had a great cup of tea and a sandwich (not very rock ‘n’ roll, but just the ticket). And then hubby and I had a little dance around the room to Frank Sinatra with another glass of champagne. I shed a little tear taking off my dress and jumped into bed exhausted by the most incredible day of my life.

We stayed on in Rathsallagh the following day and night with several friends and family so we were able to relive it all again the next day and had another party in the bar that evening.

That’s it. Thank you for reading it. Sorry it was soooo long, but reporting it has been wonderful as it’s brought it all back to me. Fairytales really do come true.

If anyone wants to see any photos please PM me and I’ll give you the link.

Best of luck to all you upcoming brides and enjoy every single second of it. I did and I wouldn’t have changed a single thing. It is the greatest day you will ever have. Live. Every. Moment.

Love, Amour Toujours! ☺
amour toujours
Most Memorable Wedding Report

Postby girlymum » Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:33 pm

It sounds fabulous. We have been meaning to go to Rathsallagh for dinner for ages and now I am convinced! Congratulations on your lovely wedding.
girlymum
Major Wolly

Postby Yoda » Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:42 pm

Phew, great report, I shed a few tears and had a few giggles, loved your bra/cat story

Many congrats to you both :wv
http://www.helpkayleywalk.com
Yoda
Empress Wolly

Postby Yoda » Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:43 pm

Oh can you pm a link for photos please fellow autumn bride :o0
Yoda
Empress Wolly

Postby Valkstar » Thu Dec 06, 2007 9:19 pm

Oh that is the nicest, funniest, most touching report I've read :lvs

Thank you for taking the time to type it all up :thnk

I'd love to see your pics if you don't mind :-8
I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I expect the same from them-John Wayne

ImageImage
Valkstar
Woloholic

Postby Yoda » Thu Dec 06, 2007 9:27 pm

Photos are great, you looked fab. and I loved the colour of the b/maids dresses, the cake was lovely and the vintage car is class
Thanks for letting see the photos, which reminds me most go to the photogrpher next to get ours :o)ll
Yoda
Empress Wolly

Postby blinginhappy » Thu Dec 06, 2007 9:47 pm

What an amazing report! It sounds like you had an absolute magical day, congrats!
blinginhappy
Royal Wolly

Postby amour toujours » Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:18 pm

Thanks for the replies guys.

It was all so wonderful, it was great to relive it in my (novel sized) report!

And I must apologise to all. I forgot to thank an amazing group of people which is of course the WOLLIES! Thanks to everyone who continues to post here. I found so many tips and great advice on this site. WOL is where I found my makeupartist (Thank you O!), my jewellry ideas, my hairpiece, lingerie ideas, tanning ideas, hair ideas, my wedding car, flower ideas etc etc etc... I'd have been lost without this place, so thanks to everyone!

And best of luck again to all upcoming brides! I wish I could do the whole day all over again!
amour toujours
Most Memorable Wedding Report

Postby Lizzy1 » Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:21 pm

I think thats the most honest report i've ever read. Really enjoyed it and had a teary moment too.
Hope you and your new husband have a long and happy life together.
Could you pm me to look at the photos thanks
:wv :wv
[url=http://www.TickerFactory.com/]
Lizzy1
Empress Wolly

Postby ozypozy » Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:21 pm

Lovely report! H2B was looking at me here a while ago cos I burst out laughing at the fiasco the day before!! would love to see your photos! All the best to you both!
ozypozy
Woloholic

Postby weddingmakeupartists » Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:27 am

It was an absolute pleasure doing the make up for you and your bridal party. You looked stunning and am delighted you had such a great day.
I wish you and your husband the very best health, happiness and success in the future.. Fabulous report, thanks for sharing :thnk
weddingmakeupartists
New Wolly

Postby Nolongerwollie » Fri Dec 07, 2007 8:42 am

What a fabulous report! Really enjoyable reading!! Congrats! O-O

Would love to see some pics! :o)ll
Nolongerwollie
Woloholic

Postby Mrs Cuddles! » Fri Dec 07, 2007 10:25 am

Congratulations :wv I enjoyed your report so much, it was great, tears, laughter, concern for your cat :o0 Best of luck to you and your new husband!
Mrs Cuddles!
Princess Wolly

Postby d\'wifey » Fri Dec 07, 2007 11:31 am

Wow that was a fabulous report...Sounds like you had a fantastic memorable day!! Definately a tear jerker ..would love to see ur pics if u dont mind :thnk
d\'wifey
Mini Wolly

Postby 1432 » Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:13 pm

What an amazing report. Definitely one of the best I have ever read. Feel like I was at the wedding. Thanks so much for sharing
New Wolly

Next

Return to Wedding Day Reports