Any Montessori teachers?

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

*Smajra* Posts: 1440
Hi Girls, Would be really gratefull if any Montessori teachers could give me some ideas as to what kind of questions to expect at an interview for a position in a Montessori school. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
gottabfp Posts: 5641
i am :o)ll :o)ll they will prob jst ask you? how you would plan your day... what kind of activities you would do? what would you do if you had a difficult child in the room? what would you do if you had a child who was biting? these are ususally the kind of questions i ask when im interviewing. have you worked as a montessori teacher before?
Mrspiggytobe Posts: 281
I am a Montessori teacher too. I would ask a potential employee to present some Montessori exercises also, it is very easy to get an impression of someone's teaching ability if they do a demo, even presenting to and adult insead of a child. Also i would ask how you would handly emergency situations eg if a child collapsed or had an allergic reaction, and what you would do if someone you didn't know arrived to collect a student. Also how you would approach difficult behavior. Very important not to give a child negative image of themselves, so instead of 'being bold', you say that x is not a very nice thing to do & that he/she is a very nice boy/girl and we don't do these things. Also i would ensure that someone has cop-on. Very important and very surprisingly lacking in so many working in the industry!! Good luck, i'm sure you'll do great!!