Menu

Baking your own Wedding Cake

Go to DIY

SophieCollinsToBe
New Wolly

Baking your own Wedding Cake

Postby SophieCollinsToBe » Mon Jan 13, 2014 12:29 pm

Hi Ladies,

My OH and I have decided to make our own wedding cake, to save money and to have a better variety of flavours. I'm a keen baker myself, so I'm not so worried about it baking well, but it's still a big task and a lot to take on the week before the wedding (early July this year)! I'm just wondering if anyone else has done this before? I'm concerned about transporting it to the venue, the best way to securely construct it and if advise on the best recipes to use and any other helpful advise and tips!
We want to bake a 3 tier cake, each tear a different type. Any ideas?

Also, how the heck do you get your ticker to show up?!

poppingcandy
Major Wolly

Re: Baking your own Wedding Cake

Postby poppingcandy » Mon Jan 13, 2014 12:56 pm

I will be interested in the replies on this one too, I am planning on doing the same myself.
I was thinking of maybe making one of the tiers in advance and freezing it, best I think would be a chocolate biscuit cake.
Also, maybe a small fruit tier, this aswell can be made in advance and is a crowd pleaser for some of the older folk.

SophieCollinsToBe
New Wolly

Postby SophieCollinsToBe » Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:09 pm

Hi Springsbride2014,

I'm glad I'm not alone in this! I started practising yesterday, I made a velvet cake (thinking about it for the top tier), I still need to fill it and ice it. I've frozen sponges before, I've kept them up to a week and they've still been perfect, plus they're easier to ice when they're cold.

I was thinking of the biscuit cake for the bottom tier, so it'll be dense enough to support the higher layer, but I've never made one before. Any tips?

The past few weddings I've been to, no one really touched the fruit cake, but maybe I just didn't notice... Do you really think it's a crowd pleaser?

poppingcandy
Major Wolly