Menu

Bride24

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

bride24 Posts: 3
From 24 June 2004 I am not good at writing, but I will try my best to describe our wedding day. It was all very hectic the day before with doing last minute shopping and collecting guests from the airport, but it all calmed down when we got to the church for our rehearsal at 8pm. It was a great idea that our priest Fr. Garvey had; to have the rehearsal the night before, as it was all so clear in our heads the next day and really made us relax because we knew that things would run smoothly. After the rehearsal we headed to the local hotel where most of the guests were staying. We had tea and sandwiches for everyone and it was great meeting guests that we hadn’t seen in ages as we both live in Germany and our family and friends live in Ireland, England and America. I said goodnight to my soon to be husband James at 11.45pm and went home with my friend Ivonne who was staying with me. She was such a great help to me the morning of the wedding. We walked home in the lashing rain, which had been continuous for the past two days. I really had accepted the fact that we would not get any nice outdoor photos the next day. I stayed up until nearly 2am-just pottering about and just as I was going to bed I remember to put out the Child of Prague, although I didn’t think there was much chance of an improvement on the weather front. So out I went in to the pouring rain in my dressing gown and placed the Child of Prague in the garden. I awoke the next morning at 6.30am with the sun shining in the window. I went up to the kitchen and looked out onto the bright green garden and was just delighted with myself! I went back to bed for an hour, but I couldn’t sleep. At 7.30am everyone was starting to rise in the house and I got into the shower, so that I would not be rushing for my hair appointment at 8.45am. I was