Menu

Castlebar or Sligo, private or public?

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

Momma2b Posts: 281
Hi ladies, I am very new to all of this and a bit in shock to be honest :-8 I am going to my gp tomorrow for a first appointment and to confirm the pregnancy. I am wondering how soon I will have to decide on hospitals and whether to go public or private. I think I will have a choice between mayo and sligo. Could anyone give me any advice on which to go with? and whether it is worth paying to go private at either of them? What are the chances of actually getting a private room if you go private? have heard of people not getting them due to availablity... Thanks a mil!
keyra Posts: 801
Hi Momma2b, My sis and SIL have 6 babies between them and had all of them in Sligo but Im going public in Castlebar as it closer to my house. I have found it excellent but they dont do a 20 weeks scan in Castlebar and they do in Sligo, also i have never been weighed in the hospital in castlebar which was lovely, pregnancy is a worrying time without being told off for being a few lbs overweight, although my doc weighs me at every appointment. I never had to wait any longer than than an hour in castlebar at my antenatal appointment, but last 2 times was only waiting 10-15 minutes. Really both hospitals are very good, have heard no bad reports from either, it just depends on which suits you better (parking at Sligo is terrible!) As for the public V privat debate, there are loads of old posts on here discussing it but personally i couldnt justify the expense of going private when as you rightly say, you are not guaranteed a private room, if they are all occupied then you will be put on a public ward same as everyone else. Anyway, Congratulations and best of luck with your pregnancy, hope its a nice easy 8 months ahead for you.
Arabella. Posts: 47