Cost of Hypnobirthing Versus Gentlebirthing Course

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

Domestic Goddess Posts: 101
Hi Wollies, I'm 20 weeks now and have made up my mind to explore the whole hypnobirthing thing! My friend did a hypnobirthing course in Dungarvan and said it cost €120. I looked up the gentlebirthing course and its a whopping €370 including the costs of the CD's. This is just too expensive for me, the CD's at €70 are a stretch!! Anyone know why there is such a price difference?! Tks.
Toblerone Posts: 2698
Hi Domestic Goddess, the gentlebirth course is a specific hypnobirthing course which is designed for self study by an Irish woman. The beauty of this is that you can just get the cds and diy! there is no necessity for a workshop or anything else. I can't say exactly what the other course is as I've no first hand knowledge of it but I believe it is based on the american system by Marie Mongan Hypnobirthing which can really only be undertaken with a certified hypnobirth practitioner. It is usually a series of 5 2.5 hour classes. There is a book you can get but it is v difficult to follow yourself and you don't get the cd they refer to constantly with it. I think in the end they are similar as both are trying to get you relax and cope with what is happening so that you can release any fear and tension during labour. Hopefully someone who's tried the Hypnobirth course will chime in. :wv
TracyD Posts: 750