creche fees / Tax credits ?

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

Chukles Posts: 672
Hi I am wondering is there such a thing? My hubby thinks there is but when we went to the tax office to change our tax to a married couple the snotty toffee nosed b**ch we were dealing with there said no such thing unless your on social welfare - can anyone enlighten me on this becasue my hubby is insisting there is definitely something you can claim Thanks in advance :wv
Moet for me Posts: 1841
Unfortunately not I'd say he is mixing it up with the additional child benefit paid to parents with children under 6 which is automatic and you don't have to do anything.
Oh maybe thats what it is so ...
Marpat Posts: 1784
sorry Chukles, there isn't anything. Of course there should be. I'm an accountant and i've had this question asked several times when I'm doing people's tax returns. MP
Yeah I kind of though this would be the story .. :o( I am clueless at tax and stuff like this so if anyone can shed some light on the following it would be great I work full time 5 days a week - if after baby is born and I decide to work say 4 or 3 days a week what way does this effect our tax and can i transfer some of my tax credits on to my hubby? I often hear people saying you wouldnt be much worse off by cutting your days each week and bar obiously not having to pay the creche for 5 days I dont understand how this works sorry for my confusing post but trying to sort this out at the moment and the lovely lady i met in the tax office was about as much help as a chocolate teapot and may have been speaking a foreign language to me Thanks in advance
Marpat Posts: 1784