Daisy Hill/Drogheda/Cavan

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

stickwoman Posts: 2394
Hi all, we've just found out that we will be able to start TTC next year (lots of non-preg related health issues on my part) and we are :o)ll :o)ll :o)ll But we live in Louth and I have to say that with the previous health concerns, I'm wary of going to Drogheda.... so we're (i.e. I'm) looking into Daisy Hill as an option. Now I'm a complete novice when it comes to all things maternity, so I could have this backwards.... but I know you pay approx 6,000 for Daisy Hill. But what I didn't know was that all the following were [b:11oeipia]NOT[/b:11oeipia] included in that!!! [i:11oeipia]There are separate fees for Daisy Hill - ( subject to change in new financial year) Caesarean section £2276 stg Normal Delivery £865 stg Bed and Breakfast £503 stg per day Paediatrician* £185 stg / €260 euro Anaesthetist --Epidural in Labour €313 euro** Caesarean Section €351euro*** Special Care Baby Unit €672 euro per day [/i:11oeipia] God forbid if something did go wrong.... baby needed special care unit, even a C section (which could be highly likely due to complications from previous surgeries...) it could easily reach 10,000. What I liked about Daisy Hill was that you got scanned every time you went and from the little research I've done, that doesn't seem to be the case with Drogheda. But you can get private scans, so it's not a huge deal I suppose (price of multiple private scans versus 6,000+ in Newry). I've seen that some people have been recommending Cavan.... would that be a realistic option from Louth? I suppose even though we won't be TTC until next year, if we did decide to go to Daisy Hill we'd need finances in order!!
petalrose Posts: 33