Decorating a Choc Biscuit Cake

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

MrsOC2012 Posts: 595
Hi All, Looking for some advice from any experts out there!! I'm making a large chocolate biscuit cake for my niece's communion this weekend. I've done this loads of times before and just decorated it with choc buttons / smarties / hundred's & thousands. I want to make this one a little special but putting a message on it, e.g. her name with a picture of a chalice or something. The only thing is that I'm brutal at writing with icing so I was wondering would it work if I got the ready-roll icing and cut out the shapes would this work (her name is luckily only 5 letters)? I've never used the ready roll icing before but I think it would look better if I cut out the letters etc and stuck them on, rather than trying to write with icing or lelted choc... which invariably ends up all different sizes and like a toddler was let loose with a piping bag! :-8 Appreciate your help! MrsOC
April13 Posts: 635
Cut the letters out of the ready to roll surely!!!! it will be lovely!!!! Yummy yummy chocolate biscuit cake!!!! I :heartbeat: it"!!!!! :) Just make sure u put a good dusting of icing sugar on cutters b4 going near the icing because they will only stick!!!! Hope this helps!!!! :-8
Thanks MrsDuffy2b!! I'm decorating the edges as well so won't have time to do it all before the choc cools. Would it work ok to decorate the edge while the choc is still soft. Then maybe dot the underneath of the letters etc with more melted chocolate so make sure they stick? Thanks, MrsOC
Meggi Posts: 383