Do you like your job?

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

pauline722 Posts: 323
We had a discussion at work about jobs. I said there are people who love what the do and love the job they have. Everyone at the table disagreed with me and said there is no one who loves what they do. So I determined to find people who love what they do. So do you love your job? If yes or no what do you do? I do not like what I do. I work in finance and it is definitely not the career I wanted.
neuromancer Posts: 166
How could they possibly know that? A depressing thought, ha! I don't love my current job but I'm training in an area and getting practical experience in a job that so far I feel I will love. My mother and father both love their jobs and always have. I've grown up in a household of positivity towards work and knowing how great it can be to do a job you love. It's definitely possible, just unfortunately doesn't happen for everyone for many, various reasons.
mrsmoo2202 Posts: 1930
I do like my job, not particularly fond of the company, and getting a bit fed up waking up at 4am to go to work, can't see myself doing it for ever, but no idea what I'd do instead!
BertRaccoon Posts: 321
I picked no. I don't hate it as much as I used to but this isn't due to any change in the work but more a general acceptance of this is how things are so I don't let it get me down as much (except for the odd melt down of course!) The work itself isn't bad but it's in no way fulfilling or challenging and I feel like the time I spent in college is wasted. I can't even imagine what it'd be like to enjoy going to work everyday - such a depressing thought! I'd do things so differently if I could go back and fill in my CAO form again....
Mrs W Posts: 2923