Does anyone understand the financial crisis?

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

lux Posts: 6270
I feel so out of the loop on this. Like, I read the papers and watch the news and hear about in work day in and day out but I just don't get it! Why do private rating agencies seem to have so much attention paid to them? Why are "the markets" so damn jittery they react to every single thing? Who needs to be paid back all this money? I don't understand it, please someone explain it to me!
cabbagehead Posts: 3899
Lux I'm the same. I'm a bright girl, I read the papers, I studied economics as part of my degree. But I couldn't begin to explain or understand what's going on. I went to lunch with a customer and some colleagues this week, and we were all discussing this same thing. It's frightening. I also wonder how many of the financiers and stockbrokers involved in this actually understand it. I think David Mitchell says it best here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DdF76QhVEFE
lux Posts: 6270
That's just it Cabbagehead, as part of my degree I did economics and I can't get my head around it! I keep up to date, I've CNN on in work a fair bit etc and I JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND IT!
Sodapop Posts: 3220
Funny I got into an indepth converstion about this all the other day - seems that Ireland owe money (the bulk of it) to Germany - as do Greece and Portugal. How they lent all money out I just dont know. Further why are now most of Europe and USA's markets sliding (as in yesterday's news)? Also now Italy and Spain are in trouble and its causing another recession!! It goes over my head most of it.
ShutterBug Posts: 1056