Duties of a Bridesmaid?

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

M2B Posts: 107
Hi girls, I've been asked by my best friend to do bridesmaid this October and was just wondering is there any particular duties I have to do? A girl in work say's I have to pay for the hair, make up etc... and the hen night. Is there anything else I have to do besides this? Sorry if I sound stupid but it's my first time and none of my friends have done bridesmaid before as we all just got engaged either this year or last year :-8 Thanks :wv
Hokey Cokey Posts: 4816
What??? Thats ridiculous. As a bridesmaid you usually dont pay for your own hair/make up, nevermind anyone elses. You dont pay for the hen....everyone except the bride pays their own. You organise the hen alright. Other jobs might include: Going dress shopping the bride Helping with invites (I didnt ask my bms to do this though and didnt do it when I was a bm) Going to rehearsal Helping the bride on the day
beatingmyselfintoadress Posts: 2387
Yeah, I completely agree with Hokey cokey. My bridesmaid is organising the hen night and doing a few other bits but I wouldnt dream of asking her to pay for anything. Don't let anyone expect you to do that! *)
Hokey Cokey Posts: 4816
You might pay for your shoes, or extras like nails or tan or hair/make up trials....things that the bride isnt asking you do/wear
lil-star Posts: 3149
my sister is bm and im so mean and made her do loads, i keep digging at her that shes not doing enough!! shes helped me do my guest book, dress shopping, party planning and helped me with my invites, oh ya and we made our wedding cake toppers together, were close anyways :o)ll
gerbil Posts: 3528