Menu

expressing milk?

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

mrsp2010 Posts: 1461
when did you all start expressing milk? JB is due before 16th december and i am hoping to breast feed but i was hoping if i he/she arrives on time that i may have a glass of wine on christmas and new yrs( thats if i feel like it!lol i may not even want it!) wondering if making up a few expressed bottles incase i do have glass but is it far too early to be doin it?
Marvin Mole Posts: 1076
My midwife and health visitor told me not to start expressing before 4 weeks to make sure supply was well established. So thats what I did. However, this time think I will start much earlier, say after a week or two as felt really by week 2 my supply was great ... cos I was a newbie I was scared to go against midwife advice!
snowbear Posts: 2107
Don't worry. You can have the odd glass when you are feeding and with a week old baby that's all you will feel like! The odd glass has been known to relax Mam and help the milk flow. The kellymom site has good info.
CestMoi Posts: 2162
+1 to what Miranda H says, and its too early to express then. Your supply won't be established by then, don't mess it up by trying to express, you'll have enough going on with a newborn to be messing around with a pump. You'll still have to feed your baby, and then try and express off additional milk, so you'll wear yourself out!
ok girls thanks! so if i had a glass it wont affect the baby? i will have a chat with the midwife when i see her next
Daff Posts: 11644