Getting Job as a Teacher

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

sharmon Posts: 437
Hi I'm thinking of going back to college to do a Postgraduate diploma in education to enable me to become a secondary school teacher. I have a BSc & a PhD & have checked my eligibility with the teaching council. I'm just wondering how difficult it is to find a job after doing the PGDE. Do you think the fact that I have a PhD & several years work experience in a lab will stand to me or be a hinderence when applying for jobs??????
nelly Posts: 1875
no bother to ya, its a cushy number altogether.. several years working inteh private sector could be a disadvantage for ya but.
fantac Posts: 4109
oh petal you're a few days late on the teacher discussion, i cant remember if the outcome was that teachers were a - unrecognised saints or b - lazy layabouts sorry - i digress -i'd say its going to get harder to find a teaching job here with the education cuts, but at the same time, teachers will always be needed. i often wish i'd gone with the teaching option after uni. not sure i'd be any good at it though, young teen types tend to just annoy me.