going sick before maternity

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

delgirl Posts: 1706
Hi girls, Just looking for some opinions/advice really. I am 30 weeks pregnant. I am a primary school teacher,teaching in Year 6 (sixth class) in England. This is exam year (SATs) for us and terms 3 (now) and 4 are are busiest terms. At the moment I live an hour from work and get up at six and am never home before six. I am just absolutely exhausted. My class are quite challenging and I often have to deal with explosive behaviour (chair throwing etc). I work in a deprived area and the class have a lot of emotional problems. I love my job but I feel I am struggling to cope. We have an impending OFSTED inspection (dept. of education) and there is pressure to perform. I am also supposed to be teaching extra classes starting next week to get ready for SATs which means won't finish teaching until 4:30 before start my after-school work. My friend recently in work lost her baby 3 weeks before her due date and this has really hit me hard and made me review my priorities. I am due to leave on maternity leave in 4 more weeks but have a doc app. on Monday and am really hoping I can't get signed off sick. Has anyone else been through this or am I just going through a slump period?
jellytots Posts: 139
I think that your own health and the health of your little baby is the most important thing in question here.. If you are avoiding flying chairs and tables it is not the place for you.. Teachers suffer alot from guilt.. I know all about it..We think that the whole place will crash down if we're not in.. But at the end of the day the kids will survive and do well anyway.. By the sounds of things you have done more than enough for them.. Look after yourself and your baby.. You need a good rest before the night time feeds begin :o0
tras Posts: 1460