Guilty about work

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

Baby on the brain Posts: 67
Does anyone feel guilty about getting pregnant work wise? I have achieved what I want to achieve but feel guilty leaving my small office? Anyone else feel like this? Thanks BOTB
sally Posts: 1140
No way.... ill be glad of a break. Ive been in the same job for almost nine years so I could do with a change of scene but I work in a hospital so unless I move cities im there for life. Love it most of the time but could do with some extended leave. Im not very carrer minded though, id imagine if you were it might be hard to leave and feel when you got back you would be at a disadvantage or out of touch. Also if its a small place I suppose its more like a family and you care more. We are a huge area so anyone can pick up my work and ill be able to come back to it easily as well,
luigi Posts: 867
Hows this one... I got preggers the week I started my job :-8 Needless to say I spent my time there not in the best books. They never even sent me a card! My old workplace had fllowers on the doorstep within 2 days but my new job never even rang. Im not one teeny bit guilty!
irish bride Posts: 558
Luigi_2B that is dreadful! The 2 girls i worked with in my dept were nasty to me about my pregnancy as well, I left on more or less bad terms with them which is really putting me off going back after maternity leave. :o( Some people are just nasty by nature I think. BOTB there was only a thread the other day about work loyalty vs pregnancy (I can’t find the thread now!) and everyone really had the same opinion - at the end of the day you really are just a number in the office and if they had to make a cut they would ask you to leave no problem as the business comes first for them. You are number one and have to look after number one, a job is just a job, a family is for life. xxx
bibikay Posts: 644