Gumtree/Carzone scams - hilarious!

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

Time For A Change Posts: 6885
As I mentioned before, I put my car up on Gumtree to see if we could sell it. We've advertised before on Carzone and all we got were those scam emails. Checked my email last night and I just cracked up laughing at the latest one. They're the only reply we've got so far, but it gave me a laugh anyway. When they replied first time, they said the standard - is it still available and what is the price. The price was already stated on the ad - as I pointed out to them, and I said to ring the mobile number to arrange a viewing (I was suspicious already). This is what I got yesterday - Thanks for the prompt response.. I am ready to buying it now for birthday gift for brother in-law and i am at sea at the moment as i am a marine engineer and due to the nature of my work, phone calls making and visiting of website are restricted but i squeezed out time to check this advert and send you an email regarding it. I really want this item to be a surprise for brother in-law so i wont let him know anything about the item until it gets delivered to him, i am sure he will be more than happy with this item. I insisted on paypal because i don't have access to my bank account online as i don't have internet banking, but i can pay from my paypal account, as i have my bank a/c attached to it, i will need you to give me your paypal email address and your paypal full name and the price so i can make the payments asap for the item and pls if you don't have paypal account yet, it is very easy to set up, go to http://www.paypal.co.uk Web site registration will take only 5 minutes just get back to me as soon as you get back to me registered and get it set up, after you have set it up i will only need the e-mail address you use for registration with paypal so as to put the money through. I h