GYM GYM GYM

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

nearlywed Posts: 254
Hi All I'm a newbie to the gym - had a really good induction but wondering what you do when there? I'm not planning on spending every waking moment in there so a good 45 - hour workout would be what i want thanks weewedding
rathkenny Posts: 936
Hi Weewedding! I had an assessment done at the gym when I started and they recommended the following 1 hour work-out: - 10 minutes warm up on treadmill (walking on flat so that you get your heart rate up to fat burning zone) - 10 minutes on treadmill with incline level 3 so that your heart rate is in the cardio zone - 20 minutes on cross-trainer - heart rate in cardio zone - 15 minutes bike - heart rate in cardio zone - 5 minutes cool-down on bike I was doing this 3 times a week along with WW and found the weight fell off! Unfortunately things in work went mental and stopped going to the gym and put some of the weight back on! O:| O:| I just started back to the gym last week and doing WW online so I'm aiming to lose a stone by Christmas which I think is very achievable!! (Fingers crossed!!) :o)ll :o)ll Best of luck with it! :wv :wv
nearlywed Posts: 254
Thanks for that! I managed to drag myself there today so feeling great now :o)ll
rathkenny Posts: 936
Good stuff! It's getting into the routine of going that's difficult. Once you get used to it being part of your life it's so much easier! O-O
ms crooner Posts: 621
I Had my induction on Monday night so going back tonight to do my hour and a half workout. It involves 5 mins on bike to warm up 20 mins walking on treadmill with inclines included 10 mins on cross trainer 5 mins on stepper Using 3 different weight machines Exercises with dumb bells Exercises on the ball Exercises on the Mat Followed by loads of stretches Long Hot Shower..... Tuna and Salad...........CSI for 2 hours......... bed......sleep