Hello Everyone

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

happyout Posts: 204
Hi everyone I am new to this section of the site. I recently found out that I am pregnant. It is a bit of a surprise to us as we are only married two months but we are thrilled. I am in my 7th Week. As this was not planned I don't really know much about pregnancy. I have a couple of questions My friend told me at the weekend that I could not highlight my hair while I was pregnant Is this true? Does anyone know what foods I should avoid? best of luck to everyone
button Posts: 11
Hi Happy out - thats great news - im almost 24 weeks and i was told of that highlights thing too. I asked my hairdresser and i now only get the lights (u know on the little pieces of paper) but no colour directly onto the roots. Regards food, firstly, take folic acid daily (buy in tablet form from the chemist) eat plenty fruit & veg, milk, but no peanuts!!
bimbochick Posts: 95
Heh hon and congrats on your pregnancy No hair dyeing (the peroxide and ammonia can get into your bloodstream and effect babs) and as for foods - steer clear of peanuts and anything with uncooked eggs in it i,e mayonnaise, pavlova, meringue even some pate's should be avoided. Obviously bungy jumping, base jumping and abseiling are out too!! :o0 Other than that, get yourself a folic acid supplement, some iron (galfar f.a) and loads of rest. Dry crackers are good to eat if you're not feeling the best - there are a few medicines you cant take ( i think anything with asprin in it is out as it thins your blood) but check with your gp Enjoy your pregnancy, take it easy, get loads of rest and spoil yourself ok! keep us updated :wv
oirish Posts: 1541
congrats happy out !!! get yourself a good pregnancy book or two, and for a light hearted "real" book - the "Best Friends Guide to Pregnancy" is worth a read :)
NewGirl Posts: 1143