Help from teachers re mat leave!

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

eldc2012 Posts: 17
Just made a new username on here incase anyone recognises me! Just home from honeymoon where we got a BFP!! Delighted! Not sure when Im due exactly. Its early days yet. The first day of my last period was June 9, the first time we did the deed without protection was June 17. So I think that makes it the end of March? Not an ideal time for a teacher! I'm a secondary teacher with some hours CID and 11 hours of someone elses jobsharing. What I'm wondering is, if the baby was due on say, March 20, when would I be back from (or take) paid mat leave? I know I'm entitled to 26 weeks but what happens when a lot of that overlaps with summer hols? Going to see the GP tomorrow so I should have more of an idea of due date by then, will be official. :o)ll
mrs shamrock Posts: 603
Hi im a teacher too and due end of March, havent worked it out properly but i reckon I can start after St. Patricks - 2 weeks off before due, 26 weeks and then 30 days in lieu for summer holidays takes me up to going back after Halloween break, now Im primary so you may be slightly different, but gives you an idea. They date your pregnancy from your last period so you could be further along then you think, as i was after you and due end of March!
weddingdiva Posts: 1349
That sounds about right give or take a few days
Mamabelle2011 Posts: 363