I'm new to this - advice needed!!!

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

christmasbride2012 Posts: 478
I'm looking for some advice regarding haggling with venues!! Just got engaged and we're going to look at a venue on Sunday. I have my heart set on it and H2B likes it too. I know our prefered date is available and would happily go down and pay a deposit-done and dusted! Problem is (and I think he may be right!) H2B doesn't want to show our cards too early. He's afraid if we go down and book straight away, our haggling power will be gone and we won't get any good deals from them. He wants to provisionally book it and take a month or so to talk to them, try and get good deals, compare prices with other venues, etc before we commit and pay them a deposit. I'm afraid our date and dates around it will be gone then! So my questions to much wiser and seasoned Wollies are: -Do venues take provisional bookings? -How long do they hold them for? -How much can you haggle? Thanks in advance girls!! :wv
Bellisima Posts: 3583
Id do all your haggling before you pay a deposit. To be honest I think your H2B has some good points. Most venues will hold your date but it depends on how popular it is - they might only hold it for a week for you. How much you can haggle also depends on the venue. Most are willing to meet you half way or more on what you want but unfortunately there are still plenty of venues out there that wont compromise at all - again I think it depends on their popularity and their reliance on weddings as a source of income.
Decisions11 Posts: 1246