Induction - does the gel work/tips

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

groovee Posts: 529
Hi girls, Posted this in M&K too ... Just looking for some insight from any of you have been induced.. I'm due to be induced this week as this baby seems to have no notion of making an appearance by itself. The induction starts with the prostaglandins gel and then moves onto water breaking and drip etc. As you can imagine i'm not looking forward to the whole thing. Just wondering if the gel worked for any of you? Anyone i've asked said nothing kicked off until the drip or their waters were broken.. Also any tips on the whole thing.. I know it's gonna be a long haul and boring etc. Also was told to move around as much as possible.I'm probably going to be a wimp with the pain though and be asking for the epidural soon enough!
Babyboomerang Posts: 543
Sorry, I've no practical experience at all, but from what I've heard the drip will make your contractions more painful than normal, so you won't be a wimp for opting for the epidural. In fact, I would think that most people who are induced end up with the epi or some sort of pain relief. Just want to wish you the best of luck and fingers crossed you'll have your baby in your arms very soon.
La La Land Posts: 226
Hi Groovee, I was induced on DD at 13 days over. I lost the plug at 12days over and was getting regular pains the whole night before went I went in for induction so they were able to break my waters rather than starting with the gel as I was 1cm. They will only use the gel if the cervix is still fully closed. Anyway as it turns out there was no water left around baby (I actually thought they missed the water bag but no) and I ended up on the Oxytocin drip later on. They recommend you take the epi if you're going on the Oxytocin. Best of luck x
PaniniRoses Posts: 3628