Joey Barton-suicide was selfish?

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

Anne Cordelia Shirley Posts: 4731
I've little or no knowledge of football but obviously the recent high profile suicide hit the headlines in a big way. I was reading the backlash about Joey Barton's tweet saying the suicide was "a mix of the most tragic, most selfish, most terrible (and I want to believe preventable) acts out there". (link here: http://news.sky.com/home/uk-news/article/16120303) Its a hurtful comment to make at such a sensitive time but I can understand it, even if I don't agree with it. Wondering what everyone else thinks of it as a view?
anoncb Posts: 379
Joey Barton is a thug, little if anything between his ears, attention seeking I'd imagine. Stupid people trying to as someone said, rationalise an irrational decision.
Jacqueline Hyde Posts: 1145
I think this can only end up upsetting people.
Anne Cordelia Shirley Posts: 4731
I don't know anything about Joey Barton, I was interested in his comments. I've heard the same said about suicide of people who aren't well known. I don't agree with it, but I wonder how widespread the view is.
MadlyInLove Posts: 529