Labour Bag?

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

chicam Posts: 1169
Ok girls, with talk of ppl packing labour bags at 25 weeks, I'm 26 wks and going on hols in abut 3 weeks so thought I'd better have a bag together in case anything happens! I know WHAT to put in it, just wondering some SILLY questions (newbie here, sorry!) - what type of bag did you use? - is it worth buying a hospital bag already packed like this one from mothercare - or is it worth just packing a sports bag with all the bits needed?
Babybop. Posts: 592
I got a lovely orange wheelie one from Heatons for 11 euro and its perfect. I was just looking at the Mothercare one you posted and it doesnt seem to have the likes of Vaseline for your lips or Mist spray for your face shampoo for your baby and babywash also same for your washing essentials it could cost you more in the long run.
jarashow Posts: 3083
I was hoping to just use a small bag from home. Either a little wheelie one or a hold all of some sort. Will leave the big bag in the car and hubbie can go out and get it afterwards.
roxychick Posts: 1802
I didn't use half the stuff I had in my labour bag. Towels etc
Mammypig Posts: 832
i wouldn't bother with the pre-packed ones you can buy. you really just need the bare essentials in the labor ward. (baby vest, babygrow, towel, blanket, maternity pads) Everything else can go in a bigger bag which DH/DP can bring in later. I know a lot of people go overboard bringing face mist/sweets/etc and never used any of it. and remember DH/DP can always bring in things you need
rushinbride Posts: 1097