Maternity Leave question - help!!!

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

Cristalle Posts: 110
Hi girls, I'm almost sure my doc said that you don't HAVE to take two weeks leave prior to your due date but I can't find any information to back this up! I think she said that employers like you to take two weeks but its not obligatory. Anybody able to shed some light on the docs claim? Thanks :wv
theoracle Posts: 7664
2 weeks IS obligatory by law, no question of 'like'. You can see all the info on citizens info web site.
ConfusedBride2Be Posts: 463
Hi Riverbride I couldn't be certain but I am 90% sure you have to take two weeks off prior to your due date. I work in the public sector and I know when we fill out our maternity benefit forms we get the doctor to put down our due date and then our line manager works it out from there that our date for finishing work is 2 weeks prior to the due date. I hope that makes sense!! I'm due on the 13th of March which falls on a Friday so I'll finish up work on Friday the 27th of Feb. Some of the girls get the doc to put down their due date for a week later which is something I might do as I only get 26 weeks paid maternity leave and if the baby is overdue there could be 3 or 4 weeks of my maternity leave gone!!!! Hope this helps x
Cristalle Posts: 110
hu101 - I'm fully aware of websites that state two weeks thanks. I wondered if anybody had heard or had info on NOT having to take it - reason being i've holidays beforehand which i'd rather not have to use some of my 26 weeks for. Thanks for your reply confusedb2b. Think i need to chat to doc again. Those weeks are very precious! Good luck with remainder of pregnancy - not long to go now!!!! :thnk
Yoda Posts: 3340