New Dilemma

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

Genegirl Posts: 2110
So some of you may have read that i had to cancel my orignal band. So now i have a new problem: Got a two bands who are available. The first charge £600. They play with backing tracks and there are two of them. The second have a great reputation but they are charging exactly double. They play live with no backing tracks. I have e mailed the second band to see if they will come down any in price but i doubt it. I know the obvious choice is the first one but has anyone got experience of a group playing with backing tracks and would a complete live band be better? O:| O:| O:|
petersgirl Posts: 1568
Have to say I can't stand backing tracks - but I don't know if it's just me being fussy being a musician myself, work in music education, whole family musical and H2B also. I'm just around musicians all the time, so the backing track doesn't cut it for me. Depends on the importance you place on the different elements of the wedding - I don't mind spending a good bit on the entertainment, but would cut down on things like flowers, wedding cake etc. Some people like to spend a lot on flowers etc. so it's personal preference really :wv
One of my worst nightmares is guests not getting up and dancing. Constant dreams of me trying to get people on the floor. So do you think having a live band worth the extra money then?
petersgirl Posts: 1568