Penalty points & insurance

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

wedjul05 Posts: 5673
I got the letter yest to say I got my first 2 pentaly points for speeding O:| :o( I could make a list of excuses but at the end of the day, I was doing 7mph over the limit. Don't want to talk about it :-8 So I'm just wondering how much this affects my insurance, on average? Is it a couple of hundred difference? Thankfully I just renewed my insurance in Jan so it won't affect me til next jan but I just need to know for my own peace of mind. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr O:| O:|
veryvalentino Posts: 259
In my own personal experience, my 2 penalty points did not affect my insurance at all.
NAUGHTYDAISY Posts: 1734
I work as an underwriter in Insurance and although it is in the UK so not sure about how it works in Ireland I would be very very shocked it you got loaded that much for 2 points, if at all. Here in the UK you normally get 3 pen points for a speeding offence and very few companies I deal with ever load for 3 points, the ones that do normally only load about 10-15%. Obviously the more points you get the higher the premium but it would be very harsh to load for 2.
ott Posts: 3920
DH has received points three times (I think), we've told the insurance company every time and our insurance premium has never increased.
wedjul05 Posts: 5673
Oh ok, that's good to know girls. thanks :wv I'm such a good, careful, mindful driver. Ragin' this has happened as everyone does 80kph on this stretch of road. Wonder how many other people they caught this day?!
mysteriousmise Posts: 1783
Check your policy to make sure you don't need to notify your insurance company of penalty points - I do. If I get points and don't notify them immediately, then my policy is null and void. 2 penalty points added €54 to my policy (usually around €500), so it added approx. 10% to my policy.