Pram buying novice here

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

leanbh1 Posts: 473
We're just in the early stages of thinking about the pram but I really dont want to go somewhere like Tony Kealy's when I'm completely at sea!I've read loads of posts on here but they make my head spin with all the terminology people use!So,some basic questions to start me off: What's the difference between a buggy and a pram? What's a travel system? I have no clue what a carrycot is! What accessories do you need? Sorry.told you I hadn't a clue! :-8
lovebug997 Posts: 4034
Leanbh I was totally like you! Thought a pram was a pram was a pram and then when I started looking around I was dumbfounded! Didn't know what I wanted or even where to start! All I will say is that the staff in most of these places are well used to people like us who don't have a clue! They're very helpful! Not too sure about the difference between a buggy and a pram or whether they're just different terms for the same thing? As far as I know a travel system on one which includes a car seat or allows a car seat to be attached to the frame! A carrycot is flat - a bit like the prams years ago where baby lies flat in it and can be used to sleep in! Most of the carrycots need a seperate mattress if you plan on leaving baby overnight in the carrycot! With regards to accessories it depends on when your baby is due! I'm due a winter baby so I'll be getting a footmuff, rain cover etc! I'm sure there are others who can answer your questions far better than I have though! Especially since I haven't used mine yet! When we went to Murphy's in Rathcoole they gave us a booklet and it has a checklist of questions in it so that they can best match a buggy to you! Will you be using the buggy mostly in the car or on public transport? Rough terrain or city streets? Questions like this! Can't find the booklet now though!