Question for the teachers

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

benny313 Posts: 821
Hi ladies I am just beginning to fill out the MB10 form. I am a secondary school teacher and due babs on the 7th Jan. My question is can I carry my maternity leave in to Sept. I would have used 24 weeks up untill the summer holidays, so 2 weeks left over and then add on 5 weeks of holidays (Christmas, Easter and mid-term), I would have 7 weeks left over. If I cant carry it over to September would I be allowed use it before the baby is due? I am so so confused, O:| any advice would really be appreciated. Thanks in advance *)
mtv Posts: 935
hi i am not at the form filling stage yet but i found made the most sense. look for the information leaflet/section on the website called "maternity leave and paternity leave for second level teachers". hopefully it will answer your question.
milis Posts: 7998
Your maternity leave will have to officially begin on the 28th December, which is 2 weeks before the end of the week you are due in. You count 26 weeks then, and that's your maternity leave. If you are not intending to take unpaid leave, you will get your 6 weeks back from the 1st day back at school in August. If you do want to take unpaid leave, then that has to be taken before the 6 weeks holiday leave, which would leave you unpaid for July and August.
wombats Posts: 665