Recommend Kindle/E-reader

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

little miss may Posts: 392
Hi girls, thinking of getting DH a Kindle or e-reader for Christmas but haven't a clue where to begin! I imagine there's loads on the market but would like to hear opinions or advice from people that have one already.....
neuromancer Posts: 166
I realise this is basically no help but I am getting the Kindle Paperwhite this week for my birthday! My dad has the original kindle without the light. I've messed around with it a few times and it seems great. He loves it. My friend owns the original kindle without the backlight and her husband owns the Paperwhite and they both tell me his is much better. I have heard this from a few other people too. Reviews on amazon are generally extremely positive and since the paperwhite is newer I decided on that one. I have no experience of other e-readers so I can't help there.
Thanks a mil neuromancer, that's a great help! Will look into that. I hope that you enjoy your's when you get it!!
neuromancer Posts: 166
I'll report back to you when I figure out how to work it!
teapotty Posts: 2085
I love my Kindle Paperwhite, it's the only Kindle I have owned but I have used other people's older ones without the backlight and there is no comparison. It's super for reading in the dark if say the OH is asleep and you don't want the light on. Also the backlight has quite a good range so it's easy to set it depending if you are reading outside in sunlight or inside in the dark.
atina Posts: 2240
I have the kindle fire HD and I love it!
I Dream in Disney Posts: 1592