Recommend your cot please

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

vinoqueeno Posts: 3511
So Dh & I took ourselves off for a day's window shopping today to look at cots for the new arrival. There were some we really liked and some we really disliked. We were tending to gear ourselves towards a cot bed with a view to it doing us for a few years but as we're complete novices is this the right way to be looking at it? Also - the variety of matresses completely bamboozled us so what exactly should we be looking for there? I'd prefer to get a full set of bedroom furniture (cot/chest of drawers/wardrobe) while we're at it as I don't want bits of different ranges and we have the money saved to do it right the first time round (2nd time may be a different story!!) So, any help/advice greatly appreciated. Also, we're thinking of taking a trip to Ikea during the week and wouldn't mind stopping off at any of the big Mothercare/Mamas & Papas shops around Dublin so if ye can point us in the direction of some of the bigger stores that'd be great too. O-O
jamseyjo Posts: 1132
Dovetail Posts: 293
Mamas and Papas in Blanchardstown is worth a visit. It's the biggest store and has a lot of the furniture on display. It's just off the m50 and close enough to ikea. M&P have a large range of cots (sold with sets) and mattresses. Bear in mind if you buy a cotbed you won't actually get to use the bed part of it until you have your last child - unless you plan on buying a second cot. Ikea highchairs are fantastic - pick one up even if you're not sure that you like to look of it/ want it/ need it - you won't regret it.
Bluebear Posts: 1594