Semi-private questions

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

babyblaBBer Posts: 2448
Hi all, Just getting over the delighted shock of my BFP, going to GP on Thursday. I know consultants get booked up fast so have so questions about going semi-private in Holles street. I know if your private you might get a private room and the waiting time at appointments is shorter but that's it. If you're semi-private: 1. Can you choose your consultant? 2. Do you see your consultant at all appointments? If not is it another consultant you see or just a nurse/midwife? 3. Will your consultant definitely deliver your baby? 4. What actual difference, if any, does it make to the day you go in in labour? 5. How many other mums are usually sharing a room? Anything else I've missed? Would live to hear from mums who've been there. Thanks so much for any help, I'm totally new to this and absolutely clueless!!!
chefmaid Posts: 2426
1. Can you choose your consultant? Yes or they will book you in with one ifthe one you want is not free 2. Do you see your consultant at all appointments? Not sure, lady i spoke to in Holles street said it would either be the consultant or another doctor on her service 3. Will your consultant definitely deliver your baby? No as midwifes do most of the work from what i can make out 4. What actual difference, if any, does it make to the day you go in in labour? I don't think it does but not sure 5. How many other mums are usually sharing a room? in Holles street its 5 beds i think i can't remember what they told me and thats only if there is a bed free in semi-private.
chefmaid Posts: 2426
and the fee is €800 - vhi cover €300 of that and you pay €500 on your first visit
bam bam Posts: 1756