Sick Leave - rant!!

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

Desert-Moon Posts: 1174
Girls, I'm so cross, have to get this out of system......... I have been working for the same company for 6 years, and in that time I have had 4 sick days. My due date is 15 Sep, and ML starts on 3 Sept. My consultant has said he will not let me go to my due date, as there was a big dicrepency with my dates on last pregnacy and DD was stillborn. So he will be inducing me at 38 weeks (give or take a few days). So I have now 2 full weeks left to work. I have just been promoted, and the only other person who can cover my job is on 2 weeks hols starting tomorrow. I am finding the going tough recently and at my appt tomorrow am going to ask for a cert for the next 2 weeks. I have made manager aware of the fact that I may not be physically able to work up til ML starts. TBH I'm surprised at myself (as are most of my colleagues) that I'm still at work at all. Anyaway, I am sort of being made to feel guilty regarding the possibility of finishing early! I'm so mad because its not my fault there is no cover for my job - its not my resposibility to organise that. In fairness I could go into labour early, so surely job should have had a Plan B just in case. The guys at work constantly have Mondayitis, and call in with hangovers but I genuinely need time off now. I'm a fool for caring, but I do take pride in my job, I just hate feeling bad about this, when my main concern should be my health. Mothers at work today are undervalued! O:| Sorry - rant over, will give you update tomorrow!
ginger nut Posts: 5989