single invitations

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

butterflies bride Posts: 33
Hi guys, I am getting married next year and H2B and I have fallen in love with a venue that has very limited capacity. We have been going over the numbers again and again O:| before we make a final decision and book the hotel. We can accomodate everyone we want in the room but it would mean giving our single friends single invitations. I'm new to the whole wedding politics and not too sure is this appropriate. I don't want to offend anyone. What do ye think??? :thnk Butterflies bride
BellaBee Posts: 2506
I think it is much more socially acceptable to issue single invitations nowadays. We did it in certain cases to keep our numbers down, where we knew they'd know loads of others and wouldn't be on their todd for the day. If you think people will mind just tell them straight that if ye want them to be part of your day and unfortunately due to number restrictions you can ask them +1. If it helps to soften the blow for one or two people you could tell them that if a few people can't go you may be able to allow them bring a +1 nearer the time. HTH
alskling Posts: 311
Hi butterflies bride I think it's perfectly acceptable to invite single people on their own and all my single friends will be getting single invites if they're single closer to the date. I think Libran makes a good point which I hadn't thought of - cos I don't think it really applies to me - but if there are people who wouldn't know anyone else at all then if you can you should prob give them a +1 so they don't feel like a billy no mates Enjoy the planning :wv
.... Posts: 667
shoegals Posts: 1640
Yes its perfectly acceptable. When I was single it was always a single invitation, sure your friends will understand your tight with number, well if they are real friends they will! Where are you thinking of booking can I ask?