Special Needs Assistant

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

78 Posts: 69
Hi girls. Don't know if anyone has advice but here goes. I am really hoping to get a job as a special needs assistant. I work as an accountant at the moment so have no relevant experience. But I have a diploma in Montessori Teaching for which I received a distinction and I have my Special Needs Assistant Diploma done, again I received a distinction. I have applied for so many jobs and can't even get an interview. I got one interview a few weeks ago where I did my work experience but my granny died that day and I had to cancel so did not get to do it. A friend of mine has just got a job in a local school as an SNA. She has no experience and absolutely no childcare qualifications of any description. Her sister in law happens to teach there. I'm raging mad - I want this so bad and have been working so hard the last three years getting qualifications etc. So I suppose my question is for any teachers/snas out there. What do I have to do? Any advice would be so much appreciated. Thanks!
chra Posts: 220
Sorry cant help yea but just wanted to say fair play to yea for trying to change your career and best of luck with it. :o)ll
Gonetopasturesgreener Posts: 3556
I'm sorry I can't help you either...but there has to be a Wolly here somewhere who works as a SNA, there's definately a few teachers. It sounds so frustrating. Keep bumping this up over the next few days. There aren't many people on at the moment. Best of luck.
milis Posts: 7998
Have a look at www.educationposts.com I'm fairly sure they have an SNA section on the forum.
mrs smiley Posts: 393
were are you based 78? I think it was a case of your friend getting the job because obviously the girl she knew put in a good word for her. Its mad to thing that sort of things can go on but living in the real world they do!!!
Belleboo Posts: 924