Sunday weddings in tipperary

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

ellie r Posts: 2
Hi all, I'm new to this so forgive me if I am bringing up an old topic but I couldn't find info on this anywhere. So this is whats on my mind...my boyfriend and I got engaged on 26th July this year ( :lvs ) and after much consideration we decided we would like to get married on the may bank holiday weekend 2015 on the sunday. We choose this date for 2 reasons 1. It would be my grandads 100 bday if he was alive and 2. Bank holiday Sunday weddings are 20% cheaper than fri or sat weddings in our chosen venue (a saving of over 3000e on our chosen wedding package) So I rang our local priest to ask if we could get married in the local church on a sunday. He said it was ok but as he has other engagements on a sunday he would not be able to marry us. That was fine as we had planned on asking another priest anyway but when we asked the other priest he said it was an unusual request, that he's look into it and get back to us. when he did he said he spoken to a few other priests who had discouraged him from doing it as it's frowned upon, basically from what i could gather, beacuse the priests like to have sundays to themselves. So now we have a church to get married in on a sunday but no priest to marry us. Can anyone help with this please?
sueblue Posts: 116