Surprise Baby

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

Mel79 Posts: 57
When people say the baby/pregnancy was a suprise what do you mean? Sorry if this is a stupid question. Does it mean contraception failed? If you DTD without contraception then does it not make sense that you [i:3f8ikg0j]may [/i:3f8ikg0j] conceive and therefore you'd be conscious of it? I'm new to this section. Not sure if i want to get pregnant yet so want to avoid the [i:3f8ikg0j]surprise[/i:3f8ikg0j].
Milis in disguise Posts: 727
If someone told me they had a surprise pregnancy I would assume they meant accident. If you're not using contraception, and you are having sex, then I don't think a pregnancy can be considered a surprise!!!
sunnygirl Posts: 1876
i suppose it means it wasn't planned. i am kinda having a surprise baby! well we were on holidays and weren't using contraception for the first time, though feck it we'll go for it and lo and behold to my shock i got pregnant. i thought it would take months/years! i tell people it was a shock rather than a surprise !
Woodstock Posts: 1565
To me, a surprise pregnancy means unplanned, however a surprise baby is different! That's when you decide not to find out the gender and you don't know if you're having a boy or a girl until birth!
Emme Posts: 4735
I've often been described as a pleasant surprise - big gap between me and siblings. TBH I don't like to think about it - being found in the cabbage patch will do me fine - but I would assume it's unplanned!
zoesmama Posts: 2774