Menu

Tax Situation while on Mat Leave

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

mummyinlove10 Posts: 908
just wondering for those of you not being paid by employers whats the wisest thing to do with tax credits etc for the time we are off - I will be getting just the basic maternity benefit from October so am I likely to get any tax back for this year or how does it all work also should i give DH my credits for time being as he wud now fall into higher rate of tax - i'm clueless just another thinking thing to add to the never ending list :wv
Moodles Posts: 547
If he falls into higher rate of tax and you don't then give them over. Always try and take credits at higher rather than lower rate.
Giant Underpants Posts: 953
My pay ran out this month so Ive transfered all my tax credits to my husband. Every little helps. As I understand it, and Im far from a tax expert - had I not transferred my credits to him I could get a balancing statement in January for this year and get any excess tax back then (because I would only have been paid for 8 months, but paid tax as if I were being paid for 12) I dont know what the best thing to do is, but basically we need the money now not next year so tax credit transfer it is!
Dipsy80 Posts: 1038