TCC ASAP

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

broody bride Posts: 4
Regular user here just gone anon for this: I'm getting married this Summer :o)ll and would love to start trying for a baby as soon as the ink is dry on the wedding cert :o0 :o0 :o0 I'm soo broody at the moment but for personal reasons I'd prefer to be married before we start trying. Can anyone recommend what I should start doing now? Ie When should I come off the pill? Should I start taking some vitamins etc Lots of :babydust: to everyone ttc now.
Rocket Queen Posts: 7381
Welcome to the club. :wv The only advice I can give is to start taking folic acid now. I'm sure there are more experienced ttc'ers here that could give you better advice, coz I'm only new to this myself :-8
Tigletts Posts: 2904
Hiya, start taking folic acid anyhow. If I were you I'd wait a while before coming off the pill, they say you're most fertile the first 3-4 months after coming off it. I came off it end of August and got my BFP after 2 months of trying. However, everyone is different, I guess it also depends what your cycle is like, mine after coming off was 38 days, then 2 30 days then bfp. Good luck in any case! and best of luck for your wedding.
stompy9 Posts: 227
I'm the EXACT same, and I asked my nurse abvout it. She suggested coming off the pill 3 months before the wedding and using alternative contraception, and start taking folic acid at the same time. Then start trying from wedding night onwards! My main worry having my period on my wedding day - at least I can control the timing whilst I'm on the pill, whereas coming off 3 months in advance I will have no control. I don't suppose there's anything anyone can suggest with respect to this? Suppose not really...
Joleigh Posts: 4242