too many guests, where can I find a venue?!!

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

Happygirlfrommeath Posts: 24
Hello everyone, just newly engaged here yay!!! :o)ll My problem is that my fiance has a HUGE family that he is close too and lots of neighbours and friends through sports etc...... It's not funny, our first attempt at a guest list totalled 395. Oh dear. I reckon we can get it down to 300 anyway, but I wanted it to be in a nice old country house type of place.... and am wondering if anyone has any suggestions. I'm totally new to this, but I know a marquee could be an option. No marquee place has called me back yet but are they expensive? Thanks all xxx[color=#FF00BF:2tatbab6] :duh: [/color:2tatbab6] OH I'm in Meath area but we'd look at other leinster venues if they were lovely.
GirlFriday Posts: 1815
I might be wrong but I think since the Bridge House in Tullamore was renovated it can cater for that many. It's not exactly a country house though...
Scruff1 Posts: 3139
Maybe Johnstown House in Enfield...I know they have a huge room anyway not sure exactly how many they cater for!
mobmar Posts: 642
Would you consider the Nuemore Hotel in Carrickmacross? I was at a wedding there doing the summer. There were 350 at it and everything was perfect. Nice grounds for photos if you are lucky with a good day weather wise.
Oh yes, one of the problems with him being from a massive family is not copying them!!! His brother got married in Johnstown house Hotel and his sister in Nuremore!!! So I don't want to do the same a couple of years later. The Tullamore hotel seems nice though.... any other suggestions?? Am I just getting 'only-just-engaged' nerves and creating problems? :yelrotflmaosmilie:
mobmar Posts: 642
Carton House in Maynooth?
Ilovetoast Posts: 2267