When does it hit you?

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

M Chereux Posts: 391
Hi girls, This is my first time posting here, myself and my hubby started TTC last month and was our first time officially trying, I got my BFP on Friday night I did three tests (two tesco and one clearblue digital) and showed I was 2-3 weeks gone, will go to the doctor next week to confirm. I was very shocked as I was preparing to be waiting a couple of months for a positive. we are very happy but I have to say it doesnt seem quite real yet, when does it hit you? is it when your belly changes or when you see your baby on the scan? I have had no side effects other than tender breasts so maybe because I dont have any sickness it doesnt seem very real yet? Am I on my own here? we are not planning on telling anyone until after the 12 week period.
Delphinium Posts: 3027
Congratulations M Chereux! Sounds very like our experience! It happened the same way for us. I really expected it to happen in our first month and my first reaction was shock and tears! I don't think the reality of it hit until I went for a scan at 9 weeks... and there was me crying again when I saw our little bean on screen for real. I found I did actually forget about it again once my symptoms lifted as weeks went on - breasts got less sore, nausea lifted and appetite improved again. So no, you're not alone there. I would wonder if I was imagining it until the next doctor appointment. The reality truly hit a second time after we announced our news at the 12 week mark. It makes it very real indeed when you start to share outside of you and DH!
M Chereux Posts: 391