Which will you do?

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

jmeath Posts: 5740
What are you doing?I did a few calculations and i think id be better off staying at home with babs as my wages just cover bills as it is but h2b's will do that when im on ML and my ML will pay for us to just live on, shopping and petrol. If i go back to work we'll end up with less money than if i was on Dol or minding kids from home/.... what are u doing?
MomToEmandJ Posts: 1977
my wages are better than DH, so i would have to go back to work. a creche would not be an option for us as i work as a social care worker, which entails working overnights and at weekends. my DH works at 3.30 in the mornings, 2 mornings a week. we are hoping we can manage between us and that family will help us out.
Emme Posts: 4735
When you take my tax free allowance into account it bulks up DH's wages a bit more, take out what I spend on lunches, incidentals at work, travel etc we're still out by a bit but just going to have to cut some cloth! Certainly wouldn't be worth it when no 2 comes along! DH would love to be the one staying at home though! I'm looking forward to it. I had a great childhood with my mother always being there and I'm lucky enough that it's an option for us...I hope!!
Mrs..D Posts: 1741
Its hard to know, at the moment I could probably give up and we'd survive on DH salary but tbh thats only cause the interest rates are so low now, our mortgage has reduced by €600/mth. no doubt they'll rise again so I would need to be working at that stage. My Mams going to mind babs which means we won't have childminder fees, although we will give her something every month. Im planning to take a year off in total to have the first year at home with babs and then maybe go back on a 4 day week if possible... but who knows what things will be like in a years time.
brunette Posts: 234