what is IUGR

Go to Mums & Kids

expecting no3
Major Wolly

what is IUGR

Postby expecting no3 » Wed May 15, 2013 8:23 pm

Hi girls, just looking for some info. My sil's baby was diagnosed with this. She is currently being induced to deliver the baby early. I was just wondering has anyone experience of this. How does it affect baby. Im just not sure what to say to her.

Thanks in advance

Mumaholic
Princess Wolly

X

Re: what is IUGR

Postby Mumaholic » Wed May 15, 2013 11:16 pm

I don't know anything about it but from reading on here and in books it stands for Intra Uterine Growth Restriction, as in the baby isn't growing at the rate it should be. I think sometimes the placenta might've stopped functioning properly and things like that but I say I'm no expert. Please god all will be ok :-)

Mammie2
New Wolly

Postby Mammie2 » Thu May 16, 2013 12:33 am

Hi

My first born had this problem. It means the baby has stopped or slowed down their rate of growth. I think some doctors call it "small for dates". As a result I had to be induced also at 38.5 weeks and had a little boy 5lbs 9 oz. I didnt really get a reason why but sometimes it can be down to problems with the placenta but I dont think they saw signs of that. I know my blood pressure was a bit high during the pregnancy although not medicated.

The good news is he is now 4 and has been fine ever since. He was just above the birthweight that meant he did not have to go into an incubator.

It is probably best to be induced to be on the safe side. I hope all works out well for your SIL like it did for me.

All the Bestest,
Mammie 2

PS I made the mistake of googling the condition on the blackberry while waiting for the induction to take and frightened the life out of myself - best not to do that as it caused unnecessary worry.

expecting no3
Major Wolly

Postby expecting no3 » Thu May 16, 2013 10:08 am