Menu

Home Printing Help !!

Go to DIY

Sarah4
Mini Wolly

Home Printing Help !!

Postby Sarah4 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 9:12 am

Hi All

Looking for some advise in relation to printing my own invites at home!

I have bought all the supplies (although think I went a little overboard on the ribbons and embelishments oops!) but my biggest worry is the printing.

#1 The 13.5 x 13.5 ivory card. I just need a "Wedding Invitation" and the date printed on the front of this in black. Has anyone any ideas or tips as to what type of printer I need to do this? Card is 260gsm so not too thick.

#2 Ivory Pearlescent paper. This will be printed and stuck on the inside of the invites. Also if I have sheets left over I may print directions etc on them. Again what type of printer is best, I'm worried ink will smudge on the paper?

This is my first attempt at making invites and I am a little nervous about it! I had planned on printing the cards decorating them and then printing and sticking in the inserts at a later date when I have full set a time etc for the wedding!

Thanks~!

S

nosie
Mini Wolly

Re: Home Printing Help !!

Postby nosie » Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:06 am

Do you currently have a printer? If it's an inkjet one there may be problems with the pearlized paper but you can try decreasing the print quality to draft/fast so less ink is used and print each page separately.

If it's a laser printer you should have no problems at all.

Some trial and error may be needed

Sarah4
Mini Wolly

Postby Sarah4 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Thanks, My one at home is a cheaper one so its prob inkjet but I have access to a big lazerjet one so hopefully I can use this one and not waste too much paper doing it! Maybe I should have ordered extra sheets!

omnicube
New Wolly

Postby omnicube » Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:37 pm

Best thing to do is get slightly more supplies than you need so you can test and trial what works best.