I feel so low for being ott:work safety issue

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

mumsy2 Posts: 62
i'm 6 weeks pregnant, i work as a microbiologist but being trained in chemistry due to restructuring within the company. bout week and half ago i discovered i was pregnant on babs number 2, so i told my boss in confidence that i needed to avoid a particular chemical which is know to cause abortions in pregnant women. that was fine, he made exceptions for me not to work with it , so then in the mean time we decided it best to organise to have a work safety risk assement as to find out really what additional chemicals i shouldnt be dealing with. so this has been arranged for monday with me coming in on my day off. that was all on tuesday. i was off wednesday and was working last night and i'm working again tonight. but in the meantime i felt until i knew for sure what chemicals i could/could not work with that i put my training off until after the assesment on monday.so thurs morn i emailed my boss from home raising my concern. went into work last night only to get a mail from him saying that he had asked around if there were any chemicals of danger to me. so heres me now thinking the fecker has made it obvious i'm pregnant and there weren't so i was to progress my training. thing is all these chemicals are grand for a normal person but not a pregnant woman to put it in context. so last night i emailed the EHS dept raising my concern stating due to a medical condition and until after the medical assement on monday that i really didn't want to carry out any further training and i also forwarded them the mail my boss had replied to me. just got a phonecall from the head dept saying that the matter had been investigated etc etc and that my boss has laid on other work for me to do instead. thing is why do i feel as if i'm over reacting to things once again (we had a ga