Redundancy and Maternity pay

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

Hopefully07 Posts: 2027
Guys I think once I let my boss know I am pregnant he’s going to give me the BIG heev hoo, does anybody know if he offers me (just the statutory redundancy) am I still entitled to the state Maternity pay?????? I am nearly 20 weeks (on Sunday) and I am not telling him until 22 weeks (5th November when I have my Scan) Any info would be great….would rather be armed with all before I even go talk to him! :thnk
2006wedding Posts: 965
Hopefully07 i am no expert but theres no way your employer can sack you coz you are pregnant. hope it all works oout for you
Idina Posts: 1289
It's against the law to sack someone for being pregnant!
No he's not going to "sack" me as such but he's going to say that they don't really need me anymore IYKWIM????????? He'll offer me redundancy and say the company is on a slow down turn!!!!! so he'll get away with it like that.......(he's given EVERY girl in here who was either pregnant or had a baby redundancy so it's kinda a given really!!!) I honestly don't really care but I am only going if I get my redundancy AND my state Maternity pay, just wondering if I get the Redundancy will I NOT get Sate Maternity pay as well???.... Thanks again girls!
Idina Posts: 1289
It still sounds like it's illegal but can't help with the maternity pay-sorry!
little mrs sunshine Posts: 5523
I think you have to be 24 weeks gone or something. Check out oasis.gov.ie
molls Posts: 149