Unemployed Expectant Mammies : Question

We've Moved!

Our wonderful discussion forums have now moved to Facebook...

Click to join us in our HIGM ("Help I'm Getting Married") group!

MrsDarcy Posts: 805
Hi Girls I’m going to be unemployed on this pregnancy from about week 19. I know that I’ll miss out on the maternity payment as I’ll be fully unemployed before I hit the 24 week mark (there’s no hope of my employer extending my term as the whole company is closing down). But I see on the Citizens Info website that even while I’m pg I have to still be looking for work. Now, I’m not an expert but I would think that I haven’t a hope of a new job being nearly 20 weeks pregnant. Not that I’m not going to be looking, obviously I’ll keep a lookout for suitable positions, but I’d imagine that I wouldn’t have a hope if I was up against someone who wasn’t pregnant looking for the same job. But to those of you who are in the same boat – how often do you have to meet with the welfare board and what do they expect you to do about looking for work? Do they interrogate you about not finding work? And ask you about your plans after baby is born? I hope you can help, because I am stressing a bit as I hate the thoughts of going in front of a board and having to explain myself. Thanks in advance :lvs
jewellb Posts: 2389
no real advise for you, but is there anyway you could look for a new job sooner, i know easier said than done, i know a company cant ask if you are pregnant, i know where i work you have to be in the job 11 weeks before you can get maternity benefit. sorry im sure this reply is no real help at all, hope you get some good advise :lvs :lvs
Thanks jewellb I can't leave until the redundancy package has been agreed and I don't see that happening for another 6-8 weeks. It's a pain in the a$$
Hyper2012 Posts: 1327